Menu Close

Want to be the next CEO of the Year? Applications are now open.

Everything you need to know about applying for The CEO Magazine’s 2018 Executive of the Year Awards.

Now in its seventh year, the Executive of the Year Awards is a celebration of the people behind Australia’s top businesses and organisations.

Past winners have included the country’s wealthiest businesswoman Gina Rinehart, Chair of Hancock Prospecting, who is worth a whopping A$12.68 billion (as of May 2018), former Blackmores CEO Christine Holgate who today heads up Australia Post, and the ambitious Ann Sherry who has achieved phenomenal success at cruise line company Carnival Australia.

The CEO Magazine will soon be celebrating its next cohort of leading executives when it announces its 2018 winners at the awards ceremony in Sydney this November.

Will you be one of those recognised?

Here’s what you need to know about submitting your application (before 9am Friday 3 August 2018).

How do I know if I qualify to apply for an award?

Are you employed full-time in a senior position within your company? (not applicable for Chairperson award)

Has your organisation reached an annual turnover of A$5 million+ within Australia? (not applicable for Not-For-Profit and Start-Up awards)

Are you available to attend the awards ceremony from 6pm on Wednesday 21 November at ICC Sydney?

If you answered yes to all three questions, then you’re eligible to apply.

Do I have to be from Australia?

The Executive of the Year Awards is open to Australians only. Stay tuned for future updates on the awards expanding into other parts of the world.

What if I don’t have the title of CEO? Can I still apply?

Absolutely. While the major category, CEO of the Year, only accepts individuals in a CEO position, there are 23 other categories that cater to variety of positions, from Managing Director to Chair to Executive Assistant.

What are the 24 categories?

Major award

Job-specific awards

Recognition awards

Industry awards

How does The CEO Magazine determine the winners?

A panel of highly regarded business professionals have the mighty challenge of judging the applications and their collated scores determine the finalists and winners.

This year’s judges are: Shark Tank Australia’s Steve Baxter; Lorna Jane founder Lorna Jane Clarkson; 2017 CEO of the Year winner Michael Ebeid from SBS; George and Matilda Eyecare founder Chris Beer; BPAY Group CEO John Banfield; Starlight Children’s Foundation CEO Louise Baxter; Rehab Management founder Marcella Romero; Switzer Media and Publishing founder Maureen Jordan; The CEO Circle’s John Karagounis; and The CEO Magazine’s CEO Chris Dutton and Managing Director Daniel Di Loreto.

What do I get if I win?

As well as recognition, exposure, an opportunity to network with the leading players in Australian business and a celebration thrown in your honour, winners receive an elegant trophy as well as media coverage from The CEO Magazine and other outlets.

The winner of the CEO of the Year Award will be the cover star of The CEO Magazine ANZ’s January/February edition and will be invited to join the judging panel at the following year’s awards.

What does submitting an application involve?

All you need to do is answer four equally weighted questions about what you have achieved in your business over the past 12 months (maximum 200 words per question). Two questions are general in nature, two are related to the category you’re applying for.

How long will it take me to complete my application?

We recommend setting aside 30 minutes to complete your application.

Can I apply for more than one award?

Yes. If you are applying for CEO of the Year or Managing Director of the Year you are also required to apply for an industry award.

How do I apply for an award?

There are five steps to follow:

  1. Check the eligibility criteria.
  2. Begin your application in the awards portal.
  3. Answer the four equally weighted questions.
  4. Upload any supporting documents (optional).
  5. Submit application and pay fee (A$199).

What are the details of the awards ceremony?

The 2018 awards ceremony will be held on Wednesday 21 November at the ICC Sydney in New South Wales, Australia.

When do applications close?

Applications close 9am on Friday 3 August 2018.

How will I find out if I’m a finalist?

Finalists are announced on Thursday 13 September 2018 in the October issue of The CEO Magazine ANZ. Finalists will also be listed the same day on

Event Details

Wednesday 21 November 2018

ICC Sydney

Still have questions? We answer more here and at

Leave a Reply